Andrew Jackson's Web Page

Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie / Poodle (Miniature)  : :  Male (neutered)  : :  Young  : :  Small

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

Learn more about the Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie.

Contact Andrew Jackson's Caretaker/Foster Directly: Joan (Jalrnc@hotmail.com), 856-751-8818, 609-238-6900


Scroll down to see more pictures of this dog.


About Andrew Jackson

  • Status: Adopted! | View Andrew Jackson's Success Story!
  • Adoption Fee: 300.00
  • Species: Dog
  • Rescue ID: D240011
  • General Color: Tan/Yellow/Fawn with Black
  • Current Size: 18 Pounds
  • Current Age: 3 Years 5 Months (best estimate)
  • Location: Cherry Hill NJ 08003 (609) 238-6900
  • Microchipped: Yes

Andrew Jackson is one of a bonded pair of Yorkie Poo's. He is available for adoption with his brother Bernard.  
He is 3 years old and weighs 18 lbs.
The adoption fee for both dogs is $600.00.

We have had Andrew and Bernard for 4 weeks now. They are 3 year old bonded brothers who were very timid and fearful when we received them.  It took four hours of us sitting on the floor and softly talking to them and reassuring them they were OK before Andrew would even come near us. Bernard wouldn't even look at us and turned his body away so he couldn't see us. When Andrew came close so we could pet him it still took Bernard another hour before he would follow. Bernard needs to see Andrew do something first and then he will usually follow. As time goes on both dogs have learned to trust us and they enjoy the praise and attention they receive. In 4 weeks they have made huge adjustments. Andrew and Bernard are very different so I will describe each one separately.

Andrew had his initial vet exam and was found to be healthy. He needed to be neutered and chipped which was done last week. We were told by the surrendering person that grooming may be a problem. The vet suggested medication to make grooming easier. We used the medication and were able to stay with him during the grooming. He did really well but he does not like to be brushed at all.  Andrew loves his head rubbed, back scratched and to sit close to you on the couch. He wil try to sit on your lap or lean into you and wil nudge your hand to continue petting him. Andrew loves walks and is learning manners when passing another dog. Just the shake of a noise maker wil stop his barking and he wil continue to walk nicely. Andrew does a lot of marking when on walks. He was just neutered aweek ago so we are hopeful some of this behavior will stop. When he first came to us he did mark twice in the house and Iimmediately started to use a diaper. Andrew has no problem letting me put the diaper on fi he is going in a part of the house with carpeting. The diaper has been dry so now I leave ti of when I'm with him ni those rooms. When we go visiting to a new house Ido still use the diaper to prevent accidents.

Andrew has done very well with adults coming to visit our house and going to other friend's homes. He will explore his surroundings and then settle by me. He is more cautious with children and their quick movements. Idon't think he has had the opportunity to be around children. We are working on getting him comfortable with older children.

Andrew is totally potty trained outside and will let you know when he needs to go out even in the middle of the night. He usually sleeps al night on our bed. Andrew is not a breakfast eater but really likes treats and will eat his dinner. He does seem to have a sensitive GI tract. Andrew has had
2 episodes of diarrhea and one of vomiting. I believe he reacted to a gradual change in food. The vet put him on medication for 7 days and we went back to his initial food and he is fine.
Andrew likes to lay in the sun, rub his face on the carpet and chew toys until all the stuffing and squeaker are out. He also enjoys fetching and bringing back toys, comes when he is called and knows sit and stay.

Andrew Jackson and Bernard are staying with Joan in Cherry Hill, NJ.

Save A Yorkie Rescue, Inc.  is a 501(c)(3) qualified non-profit organization operating on donations from Yorkie lovers who care. Please help by donating your tax deductible donations. 

OR

mail your check or money order to
Save A Yorkie Rescue, Inc., 526 N. St. Cloud St., #602,  Allentown, PA 18104

YOUR generosity is appreciated!

KEEP THESE FACTS IN MIND:
1. Yorkies do not usually get along well with small children and can be injured by small children, even ones who love them. Be aware of this and keep them apart. 2. Yorkies can be very difficult (nearly impossible) to housebreak. If you are gone for more than 3 hours at a time, the dog will have to have access to wee wee pads, or need someone to stop in to let him out to potty.
3. We almost NEVER get a puppy (less than one year old) in Yorkie Rescue. If only a puppy will do, check the Yorkshire Terrier Club of America website for a recommended breeder - never buy over the Internet, or from a newspaper ad or a petstore. The heartache you save will be immeasureable.
4. There is no such thing as a "teacup" Yorkie, so don't be misled by such a description. LEARN about the breed BEFORE you decide to adopt.
5. You will need to make arrangements to drive and meet the dog at the foster home which can be in New Jersey, western PA, Maryland,  etc. The dog's biography lists where the dog is fostering. We want you to meet the dog with your family and your dog, if you have one. This is a requirement for adoption.

WHAT IS THE ADOPTION FEE?
Adoption donations generally vary from dog to dog, it depends on the health, the age and the size of the dog.

Young Yorkies will have a higher adoption donation since they are the most highly sought after and they help to cover the costs of the older dogs who have a harder time finding a loving home. It is sad but true that people overwhelming demand very young dogs when they would be infinitely happier with a mellow adult. 

 

 ADOPTION AREA

Save A Yorkie Rescue prefers to adopt only in the PA, NJ, western NY, DE, MD, VA, some CT area's. If you are in the NYC area or near Long Island, there is a Yorkie Rescue closer to you. 

Be aware that you will be asked to drive to meet and pick up your dog.